This page shows short biographies of the members of the steering group.


Ruth Cheney – Chair

Ruth is a local writer and musician with an active involvement in social media in the locality.  Having worked in education for a number of years, she is now self-employed.


Geoff Whittle – Secretary of Forum

Geoff is currently retired after working in a variety of roles in public and private sectors, most recently as a senior manager in local government.

He has lived in West Knighton for 24 years and enjoys working in my local community as an environmental volunteer. He is strongly committed to preserving the ‘green’ character of Knighton and its wildlife and aims to use his experience to help achieve sustainable development in this area.

Dennis Foxon – Vice Chair

Dennis is a retired lecturer in Further Education with a wide range of interests. He has lived in the West Knighton area for over forty years and has been fascinated to watch the city develop from a rather drab manufacturing town to a vibrant multi-cultural city.  He plasn to remain in the area for the rest of his days, which is why he thinks it is important to take an interest in local planning issues.

Matthew Stevenson – Treasurer

Matthew works in IT for a global company.